RE : Korg M1 (Programming & Questions?)

Korg's M1 was the benchmark by which all other workstations were measured. Still very usable today it has become something of a "classic" and definitely deserves a spot here on Yamaha Forums UK.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul, Fozzer

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

RE : Korg M1 (Programming & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:49 pm

Hi folks,

The Korg M1 (hardware) does not seem to have it's own dedicated section on this site (instead it is bundled into "Korg Products Not Covered...", which is fair enough). I was hoping somebody may have already started a thread discussing Programing/Questions (directly relating to the Korg M1). But all of the subject matters relating to Korg run right across the board (as one might expect of course).

Anyway, rather than try and tag this onto a pre-existing discussion of old, I decided I would open a fresh topic here.

So, my first question being (please), are there any current M1 owners out there willing to help and discuss certain aspects about the programing and synthesis side of the machine? I did own an M1 in the early 90's for a couple of years or so, but at that point I was concentrating on other aspects of musicianship as opposed to being specifically into programing as such. And then I sold my M1 when I went to music school.

Recently, an M1 came up on eBay very cheap and located close by, but I narrowly missed out unfortunately. In any case, I am not especially interested in purchasing one (unless it came up very cheap again, as they sometimes do). There is of course the VST version which seems to be quite popular. I may have purchased this as part of a VST (legacy) package had it have contained the Korg POLY 61. But this synth is absent (although the POLY 6 is in there) and so I have put such a purchase on the back burner for the time being.

Many thanks in advance.

Best,

Paul David Seaman
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:17 am, edited 1 time in total.


Fender Rhodes Suitcase / Fender Rhodes Stage / MiniMoog Model D / MultiMoog / Hohner E7 Clavinet / Yamaha DX7 (Mk1) & DX21 / Roland Juno 6 / Korg Poly_61 / Roland XV5050 (module).

Mackie SRM 350 (pair), Fender DeVille, Yamaha HS7 (pair), BeyerDynamic DT880 Headphones (250 Ohm).

Cubase 8 / Sibelius 8

Dell Inspiron N5040, Windows 10 Home, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, 2.13gHz, Service Pack 1.

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7729
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Saul » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:33 pm

Thought I would create a section for the M1 Paul. It is a classic after all and greatly influenced workstation synths that followed it.

That though is probably as much help as I can give as I have never looked at programing an M1 or anything else that wasn't a computer. A little "tweaking" here and there is about my limit. Still, you have a section for it now so perhaps we will get some M1 owners coming this way who may be able to help :)


Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
AJay
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:00 am
Wales

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by AJay » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:15 pm

Maybe add T series, O1W and Wavestation to this section, they're just as classic and technically related to the M1.


Yamaha: SY85, TG500, A3000, PSR48, PSS780
Kawai: K4
Ensoniq: SQ2

Long Gone: Far too much gear from the 80's and 90's that went out the door for £££! Moved to soft synth city instead.

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3527
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Derek » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:30 pm

I have the Wavestation and M1 as VSTs in the Legacy cell collection if that counts.....


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:
Germany

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Miks » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:40 pm

Just look at my signature... :wink:


My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade


http://rescuer-uslar.de/
https://www.facebook.com/Rescuer.Uslar/

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:20 am

Hi Saul,
Saul wrote:Thought I would create a section for the M1 Paul. It is a classic after all and greatly influenced workstation synths that followed it.
I feel quite flattered than you have made a re-design especially for the sake of the Korg M1 and my many questions to follow.

And 4 x replies already! lol

Just when I thought this little forum could not get any better... :o

Cheers,

Paul
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:51 am, edited 3 times in total.



User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:27 am

Hi Ajay,
AJay wrote:Maybe add T series, O1W and Wavestation to this section, they're just as classic and technically related to the M1.
Although I have not actually owned one, I was given a demonstration once in a music shop on the Wavestation. From memory, I seem to recall it being significantly different from the 'T', 'OW' and 'M' models. I think the latter three, because they offered many orchestral type instruments and similar, were often used as ROM-plers. Whereas the Wavestation was purely SYNTH sounds exclusively. Though perhaps the connection/thread between them was that they all used 'AI Synthesis'?

Ta,

Paul
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.



User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:34 am

Hiya Derek,
Derek wrote:I have the Wavestation and M1 as VSTs in the Legacy cell collection if that counts.....
Well, I did look into the 'M1' VST but from what I saw GUI-wise, the whole thing looked totally different (to the M1). I mean that Korg do not seem to have replicated the layout (from what I could see) of the original Program/Combi EDIT PARAMETER pages. Not sure if that is a good or bad thing? Personally, I would prefer like for like, but perhaps Korg have added new features (which will appeal to many I am sure)?

Thanks,

Paul
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:53 am, edited 2 times in total.



User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 12:37 am

Miks,
Miks wrote:Just look at my signature...
Ooooh :D I look forward to your expert opinions!

Best,

Paul



User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7729
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Saul » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:17 am

AJay wrote:Maybe add T series, O1W and Wavestation to this section, they're just as classic and technically related to the M1.
More than happy to do that although I doubt they will get much traffic. Still, better to have them than to not I think :)


Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:58 am

Hi,
Saul wrote:
AJay wrote:Maybe add T series, O1W and Wavestation to this section, they're just as classic and technically related to the M1.
More than happy to do that although I doubt they will get much traffic. Still, better to have them than to not I think :)
Well we can kick off with the M1 as per planned and then see where we end up. I have plenty of burning questions to get the ball rolling for now. At some point I am sure the discussion will side step to other models of the same Korg series.

Paul



User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm
Great Britain

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:05 pm

Hello,

So, firstly I wanted to ask (or rather clarify):

If you alter a patch in PROG mode (eg. fully increase the 'SUSTAIN' level to '+10' via the appropriate 'A~H' buttons), and then STORE this (ie OVERWRITE in the same location), when you return to COMBI mode will all of the COMBI patches which use the same PROG patch (which you have just modified) be ALTERED also?

So let's say you gave a FRETLESS BASS a '+10' SUSTAIN value in PROG mode, if all of your COMBI patches 01~10 used this very same FRETLESS BASS patch, then their (all ten of them!) 'SUSTAIN' levels also be changed/sounding as '+10' value?

I know this may be basic but I would like to be clear on this so that I can progress onto some more (main) questions relating to this aspect of editing.

Thanks,

Paul
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Fri Feb 13, 2015 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.



User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7729
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Saul » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:22 pm

Since all the combi's are using the same bass source sound then I would say yes, they would all be affected. It's pretty much the same for all synths as far as I know.

The only way you could have it not affect the combi is by editing the bass patch and save it as something else and then use that edited patch...or not, as you require, in your combi. I think that's correct but I am not a synth programer so someone else might know differently?


Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
zpink
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:51 am
Contact:

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by zpink » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:46 pm

Saul's comment makes sense, even though I actually own one of (the only?) exceptions to this.
The Novation KS synths actually makes a copy of the voice when it's selected as part of a performance, so you may need to double check what the M1 does.


zpink
Swedish chap hailing from Staines-Upon-Thames.
Noise-making gear: Cubase Elements 8, Korg Electribe 2, Yamaha MOXF6, Novation Mininova, two guitars run through a Boss GT10 and couple of jaw-harps.
Oh yeah, and the Novation KS4 is now hooked up again(even though it has to rest vertically when not used)!
https://www.youtube.com/user/zpinkLondonBelow
https://soundcloud.com/london-below

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7729
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: RE : Korg M1 (Programing & Questions?)

Unread post by Saul » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:54 pm

I have this vague memory....they get more vague by the year!.....of another keyboard doing the same as the Novation. Might have been the Fantom G? Not sure, it's not something I ever really needed to look in to but it would be a great feature to have.


Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Post Reply

Return to “KORG M1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest