How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

The MX series combines Motif XS sounds, USB Audio/MIDI connectivity and advanced DAW/VST controller features at a ground breaking level of affordability.

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul, Fozzer

zorzella
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:37 pm

How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by zorzella » Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:09 pm

I own an MX49 (wonderful product), and I mostly use it as a MIDI module, controlled by MIDI from an external keyboard (with weighted keys).

I sometimes would like to record both audio and MIDI in my DAW, simultaneously, so I was looking for a setting to make the MIDI OUT port work like a MIDI through (i.e. for MIDI IN to echo the received data to the MIDI OUT port), but I can't seem to find any way to do that.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Z

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by parametric » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:06 am

Hi Zorzella - and welcome to the forums . . .

This device looks like the simplest, but a bit pricey. https://www.thomann.de/gb/miditech_midi ... 0wodnqYKWg

For little more, you can have 4 THRUs . . . . http://www.gear4music.com/Recording-and ... 0wodzI4HCQ

Perhaps this helps?

ATB

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio 24/96 Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module
BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

zorzella
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by zorzella » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:19 am

Both seem to have 4 outputs, and the cheaper one is not powered (which is a plus). I'd be happy to spend the money, but that does not solve my problem: you see, the controller I use has a lousy expression wheel, so I need to use the wheel in the MX49. So, unless I can _also_ merge that signal with the signal from the controller, this does not completely solve things for me... I guess I can connect the MX49 (say through USB) to the computer, and have the computer merge the two MIDI signals.

Implied in your response, I guess, is: there's no way to configure the MX49's OUT to work like a THRU... :(

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by parametric » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:37 am

zorzella wrote: Implied in your response, I guess, is: there's no way to configure the MX49's OUT to work like a THRU... :(
Sorry zorzella - I had not realised the MX was fairly recent . . . .

A quick look in the Reference Manual showed that the use of the PORTS (in usb mode) might enable what you are wanting (Port 3)
MX49 Midi Ports.jpg
Here's the Reference Manual:
mx49mx61_en_rm_a0.pdf
(15.59 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
from which the above was taken . . .

Does that help?

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio 24/96 Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module
BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

zorzella
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by zorzella » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:35 pm

Sorry, I had some travels and things.

Thanks for investigating. I had, previously, come across the manual section you put here. The "port" feature, though, only applies to the midi carried in the USB, and can't be used like I wanted.

FWIW, part of my equipment decided to die on me (about a week ago), and I ended up replacing my two-keys combo for a decent keyboard -- both keys and sounds -- so I don't need this anymore.

Again, thanks for the help,

Z

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: How to have the MX49 OUT MIDI work like a THRU port?

Unread post by parametric » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:31 am

No problem Zorzella - thanks for letting us know . . . .

Hope your new rig is letting you do what you wanted . . . .

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio 24/96 Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module
BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MX Forum - Covers the MX49, MX61 and MX88”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest