Yamaha Amps

Moderators: Buzzard, parametric, Derek, Saul

jeff-carolina
Member
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:44 pm
United States of America

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by jeff-carolina » Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:15 am

Peter,
Grats on the new amp!! Would like to hear how it stacks up after you've had a chance to crank it up.


Jeff

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:27 pm

Hi Jeff.

At the moment I arrive home late, so the cranking will have to wait.

I've been looking for an original footswitch, not necessarily to buy, but just to see what it looks like, but no luck so far.

I do however have a diagram giving a chance to switch between channels and switching the parametric equalizer and effect loop on and off.
It makes me a bit puzzled that the spring reverb can't be remote controlled, at least according to the diagrams. :?

Anyway, it's actually a pretty good amp, just a little bit hard to tweak for the good sounds.
but I'm sure that it gets easier once I get more familier with the amp.

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Yamaha G-100 III combo pedal

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:00 pm

Aha ................ looks like two versions of remote pedals were made: a two and a three switch pedal assembly.

Both mounted on a common metal plate, holding the boxes together. (made for the Yamaha G-100 III combo)

Here's the twin pedal, but still looking for picture of the three pedal version. :idea: Third pedal for switching effects loop on and off. :idea:

Image
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Yamaha G-100 III head footswitch

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:37 pm

Found it :!:

Now either I'll build one, or try to get one original. :wink:

Image
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

jeff-carolina
Member
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:44 pm
United States of America

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by jeff-carolina » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:51 am

Hi Peter,
I don't ever recall seeing a foot controller like that from Yamaha. It does look fairly basic though. Do you know the model # of the foot controller?


Jeff

Moxsam
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Moxsam » Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:36 am

Hey Buzzard,

Cool version III amp head! I think you will learn to like it a lot. I keep flip flopping back and forth between the version II and III as to which one I like the best. I find the version III to be more articulate and less forgiving than version II. It forces you to have good technique.

As for set up I start by taking the parametric Eq out of the equation by setting the Level knob at zero. Then I start with all the EQ knobs straight up and make minor adjustments from there. I usually turn each knob up a little bit until I hear too much bass, treble, etc and then back it down a bit. Sounds amazing!

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Oct 18, 2016 4:04 pm

Hey Moxsam.

The G-100 III head also features remote control for the effects loop, and so far I've found a nice Ampeg 3-way switch box that needs a little modding to fit the G-100 III.

Still hoping that an original Yamaha box comes my way. :wink:

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

sixt8bird
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Yamaha TA-25 & TA-50

Unread post by sixt8bird » Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:36 pm

Fretless wrote:Image

I have this amp in the bottom picture any idea the value?
This is quite incredible. I have te exact same Amp in better shape. I bought it in 1976 out of Richmond B.C. for $100 . It cranks!! When I first bought it, I would play at 10 and blew it up. After bringing it to Guitar cellar in Gastown and them charging me $160, it still wasn't fixed. Then I brought it to Yamaha of Canada in Richmond and they just had to adjust some pots and its been cranking ever since. The wildest thing is, your serial number is only 2 numbers off from mine!!!!!

sixt8bird
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by sixt8bird » Sat Feb 11, 2017 8:58 pm

This is my TA-50 125 watt Yamaha Amp. Bought it in 1976 for $100 . It is incredibly clear. That was the problem as when I was younger I wanted distortion so I cranked this thing to 10 all the time and finally blew it. I then brought it to a place called the Guitar cellar in Gastown back in the 70s and they charged me like $160 and never fixed it. That's when I discovered Yamaha of Canada and they just had to adjust a few Potentmeters (?) and it sounded like new once again and I used effects instead of cranking it. It really does crank. I use to sing in one channel and play through the other and it sounded damned good. The weirdest thing is this Amp I bought in Richmond B.C. Canada and the only other one I have seen is from Canada also . On this forum. Our serial numbers are only 4 apart from each other!!!! Serial number #1339. Oh and I have looked for information on this amp since the beginning of the internet and finally this forum with just one other member having one. This amp Im guessing is as rare as Hens teeth. I have the factory schematics that I got from Yamaha of Canada back in 1976 when they fixed it. Great old amp and played double duty in my high school band as a PA and a guitar amp. Oh and talk about heavy!!!!! These amps are built like Sherman tanks!!!!
It now resides in WA. state 100 miles south of where I bought it in Canada. I moved to the USA in 1981 and brought it down with me.

Image Image

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Buzzard » Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:24 pm

Hi sixt8bird , Welcome to the Yamaha Forums. :D

For it's age, your amp looks to be in great condition. ((i)) Thanks for sharing pictures.

It's a CLEAN amp, absolutely NOT suited to be cranked, but any overdrive/distortion/fuzz pedal can do the trick.

Best Reagrds
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

sixt8bird
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by sixt8bird » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:10 pm

Yep I learned that when I first got it. I bet the neighbors were happy when I blew it up. Its been old faithful for over 40 years!!! I was playing with a guy that was playing through a Fender twin and he blew his up while we were jamming. I was singing and playing through my amp and then had to plug his guitar into mine also. It made it through the 3 hours of Dio, Rush, Hendrix, etc LOL!!! The guy I jammed with was a wizard on guitar and Id just keep playing hard rhythm and let him wail!!! My go to amp is now a Peavey Delta Blues. I also have a 1976 JMP MK Super Lead II that was modded to bridge the channels and add a master gain which I never use as its just way too loud!!!!!!

User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:46 pm

sixt8bird wrote:This amp I'm guessing is as rare as Hens teeth.
Yes, definitely not one you see every day. :D Take good care of it. :idea:

Have you tried it with an acoustic guitar, and maybe an electric to get "Surf sound" :?: It does have a great tremolo and reverb built in. :idea:

Your TA-50 and the TA-25 have round cone speakers.

The other TA models: TA-20 , TA-30 , TA-60 , TA-70 , TA-90 and TA-120 have the trapezoid polystyrene cone speakers.
These speakers sound brilliant, but must be played with care, since they are claimed to be the weak link of the amps.

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

sixt8bird
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by sixt8bird » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:19 am

I am using it with a vintage tone bender with a bit of reverb and it sounds super good!!!! I use to play through it with a 1965 Fender Jaguar that I actually still have but I am using my Fender Strat with a Peavey Amp more so and jamb with Youtube Guitar Blues jamb tracks. Its awesome. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MODoozycQg

hypercarrots
Member
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 8:13 am

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by hypercarrots » Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:13 pm


User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Yamaha Amps

Unread post by Buzzard » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:08 pm

hypercarrots wrote:TA-20 on ebay now!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Rare-Vintage-19 ... 2378851741
(Item location: Rocklin, California, United States)

Looks nice and clean, and so far no bids, starting at US$ 199.99 8)
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Amps”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest