Got a EX5!

The EX5 features a unique Extended Synthesis system which incorporates a number of advanced tone generator technologies. AWM2, AN, FDSP and VL. The EX5 is one of the best keyboard Yamaha ever produced.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

DrSynth wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:23 am
Derek,

Agreed - re legacy editors and such, but I'm there anyway for the Expert Editor for th VL.

For sure could haggle the seller of the local EX5 on price, but I'm one of those who's not a comfortable haggler... besides, dealing with the size and heft of the keyboard really showed that if I revisit, it will be for an EX5r.

The hardest thing I'm actually struggling to 'just say no!" is I've found a local seller asking just $450 for an SY99 that's only in need of a display backlight and floppy drive belt...

Manny
Hi, Manny. Yes, I am quite happy with the EX5R for my EX5 fix but they do take a while to come on the market - I guess less of them were sold and people tend to hang on to them. The Montage is much lighter than the EX5, which is a boon these days!

On another point, you mention the expert editor. Do you have a copy of that available as a downloadable package? It was the one thing I never downloaded in the day as I did not need it at the time. But now it is impossible to find a copy of it.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by EB5AGV »

Derek wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:44 pm
On another point, you mention the expert editor. Do you have a copy of that available as a downloadable package? It was the one thing I never downloaded in the day as I did not need it at the time. But now it is impossible to find a copy of it.
+1 on this (Y)

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha U3H, DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, 2x TG77, SY99, SPX990, SY85, A3000, 2x AN1x, EX5, 2x EX5R, EX7, FS1R, MOTIF RACK XS, MOX8, Montage 6, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments 2, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76, TR Rack
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, XV-5080
Steinberg CC121, Cubase Pro 10.5, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
UVI Key Suite Bundle Edition, String Machines 2

User avatar
DrSynth
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by DrSynth »

RE: Expert editors

VL1 or VL70? I do have both ... Rememebr, need OS9 bootable MAc plus OMS.

If you need for the VL70m and/or PLG's / EX5 , you should strongly consider the current VL70 Wiz by Rudy Verpale as it runs on the current OS's. Rudy is good a guy, I put him in touch with Yamaha back in the day when he was originally delevoping it, and I've recently been speaking to him to encourage the VL1 version when he's not so busy.

HE has a demo version available to try befor you buy

https://www.vl70m-editor.com/site/

Manny
FM Rig of DOOM!! Yamaha: Montage 7, SY99's x9, TG77's x4, Reface DX, FS1r, DX200, DX7II FD E!, DX7II FD, TX802
Yamaha VL1v2, VL70m, AN200, AN1X, EX5R, Motif-Rack ES, PLG150-AN
Kurzweil K2000, Korg Wavestation EX, Kawai K1, Sequential Pro One, Arp Odyssey
What's a Roland ...?
YouTube FM Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXY8GT ... R0TSw/feed
SoundCloud FM Examples: https://soundcloud.com/manny-fernandez-4856421

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

OK, thanks.

It was the PC version I was looking for. The 3rd party version you mention is of course an option if the originals are no longer available.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
DrSynth
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by DrSynth »

Derek,

I think you are referring the one done by the WindList guys and that used to be available through Patchman?

Don't have it (no Windows for me back then...I had the 'real' editors) but I have the contact info around here somewhere for the dev's... I'll keep you posted.

Manny
FM Rig of DOOM!! Yamaha: Montage 7, SY99's x9, TG77's x4, Reface DX, FS1r, DX200, DX7II FD E!, DX7II FD, TX802
Yamaha VL1v2, VL70m, AN200, AN1X, EX5R, Motif-Rack ES, PLG150-AN
Kurzweil K2000, Korg Wavestation EX, Kawai K1, Sequential Pro One, Arp Odyssey
What's a Roland ...?
YouTube FM Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXY8GT ... R0TSw/feed
SoundCloud FM Examples: https://soundcloud.com/manny-fernandez-4856421

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

Many thanks. Fingers crossed....
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1249
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
Location.: Europe

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by tux »

Derek wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:44 pm
On another point, you mention the expert editor. Do you have a copy of that available as a downloadable package? It was the one thing I never downloaded in the day as I did not need it at the time. But now it is impossible to find a copy of it.
The CD-ROM that was included with the PLG150-DX card, also included the VL Visual Editor (plug-in version for Yamaha XGworks).

An ISO image of that CD is in my personal collection of tools for the PLG150-DX (last file at the bottom):
http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/files/Yamaha/PLG150-DX/
I do have a copy of XGworks_3.0.7E too (but not online), in case you don't have XGworks.

Not sure if that helps.
My Yamaha RM50 page
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN and PLG150-DX)

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

Thanks, Tux

But if it is just the visual editor then, I already have that. I'll take a look when I get five mins to see if the EXPERT editor is lurking in there.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
DrSynth
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by DrSynth »

Derek,

Here ya go. Still available from the WindSynth.net site.. VL70m editor For Win98, IIRC

vled-all.zip
(494.27 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

BTW -- With the Motif EX Rack on its way I spent Friday night and half of Saturday getting my old Pismo G3 powerbook all back up and running with 9.2.2 with the original VL editors. Ugh -- OMS, Drivers, MIDI Manager, PatchBay -- don't miss those at all ! Avoiding all those headaches with Rudy's VL Wizard may well be worth it when I start using the PLG150-VL

As an aside, also found an old VL1/VL70m expert editor I had downloaded years ago and completely forgotten about - the VLOne70 editor for PPC OSX versions. I installed OSX Tiger on the G3 laptop and it runs (the original Yamaha Expert Editor also runs fine in Classic mode in Tiger BTW). VLOne70 was never completely finished and does have some quirks but is functionally usable. Googled around and can still download it from John Korchok's site http://www.johnkorchok.com/VL1.html#

Programmed some new VL1 voices - brought back memories !

Manny
FM Rig of DOOM!! Yamaha: Montage 7, SY99's x9, TG77's x4, Reface DX, FS1r, DX200, DX7II FD E!, DX7II FD, TX802
Yamaha VL1v2, VL70m, AN200, AN1X, EX5R, Motif-Rack ES, PLG150-AN
Kurzweil K2000, Korg Wavestation EX, Kawai K1, Sequential Pro One, Arp Odyssey
What's a Roland ...?
YouTube FM Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXY8GT ... R0TSw/feed
SoundCloud FM Examples: https://soundcloud.com/manny-fernandez-4856421

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

Thanks, Manny

So it was hiding in plain sight all along! :)

VL sure is amazing technology, as was AN and FDSP, FM, etc. Which (not withstanding no FM, but I had my DX7II at the time) is what attracted me to the EX5 in 1999.

Couple that with the AN1x, VL1, VL70m and the FS1r, and it must have been quite heady times at Yamaha in that era.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
DrSynth
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by DrSynth »

Derek wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:21 am
Thanks, Manny

So it was hiding in plain sight all along! :)

VL sure is amazing technology, as was AN and FDSP, FM, etc. Which (not withstanding no FM, but I had my DX7II at the time) is what attracted me to the EX5 in 1999.

Couple that with the AN1x, VL1, VL70m and the FS1r, and it must have been quite heady times at Yamaha in that era.
Yeah that run of Yamaha synthesis technologies was pretty remarkable and unique amoungst the MI companies.

Only Kurzweil with VAST and Korg with the OASYS platform bothered to go beyond the typical ROMpler tech of the time....

Manny
FM Rig of DOOM!! Yamaha: Montage 7, SY99's x9, TG77's x4, Reface DX, FS1r, DX200, DX7II FD E!, DX7II FD, TX802
Yamaha VL1v2, VL70m, AN200, AN1X, EX5R, Motif-Rack ES, PLG150-AN
Kurzweil K2000, Korg Wavestation EX, Kawai K1, Sequential Pro One, Arp Odyssey
What's a Roland ...?
YouTube FM Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXY8GT ... R0TSw/feed
SoundCloud FM Examples: https://soundcloud.com/manny-fernandez-4856421

User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1249
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
Location.: Europe

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by tux »

tux wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:45 pm
I'm seriously thinking about selling my EX5R (it has SCSI, 64MB RAM and 16MB Flash and the last official firmware), given that I never find the time to use it properly and that it has a lot over overlap with the CS6R I own too.
There is currently an interesting auction on ebay Germany of an EX5R with SCSI, 64MB RAM and 16MB Flash (from Sector101). I'm very curious to see how high it goes as it exactly matches the spec of my EX5R (no it's not my auction, mine isn't for sale yet).
https://www.ebay.de/itm/202770114889 (6 days to go)
My Yamaha RM50 page
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN and PLG150-DX)

User avatar
DrSynth
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by DrSynth »

Finally!

Found an EX5r at a fair price, fully loaded with Ram and Flash. The seller also had the SCSI board and the digital output board that I passed on (hopefully not foolishly) to get the price in my range. I bought it as part of my mid-life crisis quest of fleshing out my collection of all the Yamaha gear I did factory dev and presets for as well as occasional fiddling around, I didn't see the need of those two boards and saved $200

Anyway, it took a while so now I have to get it into the rack and fiddle around and remember how to program the dang thing!

Next up - an AN1x

Manny
FM Rig of DOOM!! Yamaha: Montage 7, SY99's x9, TG77's x4, Reface DX, FS1r, DX200, DX7II FD E!, DX7II FD, TX802
Yamaha VL1v2, VL70m, AN200, AN1X, EX5R, Motif-Rack ES, PLG150-AN
Kurzweil K2000, Korg Wavestation EX, Kawai K1, Sequential Pro One, Arp Odyssey
What's a Roland ...?
YouTube FM Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXY8GT ... R0TSw/feed
SoundCloud FM Examples: https://soundcloud.com/manny-fernandez-4856421

User avatar
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by EB5AGV »

DrSynth wrote:
Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:23 am
Finally!

Found an EX5r at a fair price, fully loaded with Ram and Flash. The seller also had the SCSI board and the digital output board that I passed on (hopefully not foolishly) to get the price in my range. I bought it as part of my mid-life crisis quest of fleshing out my collection of all the Yamaha gear I did factory dev and presets for as well as occasional fiddling around, I didn't see the need of those two boards and saved $200

Anyway, it took a while so now I have to get it into the rack and fiddle around and rememebr how to program the dang thing!

Next up - an AN1x

Manny
Congratulations!!! :clap:

I have an extra AN1x, but shipping from Spain is a deal killer, I am afraid. For sure you will find one closer.

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha U3H, DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, 2x TG77, SY99, SPX990, SY85, A3000, 2x AN1x, EX5, 2x EX5R, EX7, FS1R, MOTIF RACK XS, MOX8, Montage 6, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments 2, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76, TR Rack
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, XV-5080
Steinberg CC121, Cubase Pro 10.5, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
UVI Key Suite Bundle Edition, String Machines 2

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Got a EX5!

Unread post by Derek »

Congrats.

It too took me a while to find an EX5R as they do not come up often, but I wanted one before I sold my two EX5 synths (main and spare, which made way for a Montage 7 on my bottom tier), as I wanted to keep the EX sound in the studio.

Digital IO is not necessary as the analog outs are pretty clean

SCSI board is only needed if you want to fill the RAM and FLASH with more than 1.44MB, but there are not many releases that made use of that. MEL-LABS is the main one we did at EX5Tech that pushed FLASH to its limits and you would need SCSI to load (although ki did make some smaller sets of the S1M to fit in stock memory).

You can always get a SCSI card later if needed by found an old A3000 which are usually cheap as chips when they appear, and rob it for the SCSI. Also the A3000 uses the same PSU as the EX5, but Yamaha no longer offer to repair them (nor does their third party repair company in the UK).
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

Post Reply