Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

The EX5 features a unique Extended Synthesis system which incorporates a number of advanced tone generator technologies. AWM2, AN, FDSP and VL. The EX5 is one of the best keyboard Yamaha ever produced.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

rocknpop
Member
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 11:36 pm
Location.: United States

Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by rocknpop »

Hi guys,

After owning a few in the past, I now bought an EX5 and an EX7 in the past week, for good, to keep! I do have questions though and would love your help.

The EX5 I bought has the following upgrades: 1) EXID01 2) SCSI expansion board 3) maxed out EXFLM2.

The board is in OK condition but I would like to get your thoughts on some things
1) There is some clicking in the keys (middle B, C#, and G#) - is the fix to this just a felt replacement? or do I have to look into changing the keys?
2) Some of the buttons are harder to push (Edit, Job, and #8) - is it worth replacing the switches out?
3) It's been so long since I owned one that I forgot how to load patches and if I can do so without using the floppy drive? I have a MacBook Pro running OS Sierra (10.12.6), and I just ordered a UBS-FloppyDisk drive, but these are very slow to load. Sorry for the noob question, but how do I hook up the EX5 to the laptop to directly load patches live? Feel free to point me in the directions of the instructions. I would love to i) load the old Ski Pianos and ii) try out Alex's "Floyd" sounds. Just wonder if I need to go the floppy route.


User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13345
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
16
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by Saul »

You bought both? All you need now is the EX5R ;)

I have never owned the EX so can't really help with much in regard to repairs etc. We do have quite a few EX owners on the forum though and I am sure it won't be long before someone chips in with the answers to your questions. (Y)


Saul
Site Admin

Appreciate the forum? Buy me a coffeeImage
Acoustic Guitar Reviews On Facebook
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is at times supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5359
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
12
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by Derek »

Hi,

To make full use of the EX5 you will need a floppy drive or some other form of media compatible with the SCSI interface. I used to use an IO Mega Zip drive, but many others had success with different PC Card interfaces.

95% of EX5 downloads will fit on a 1.44MB floppy, it is only the extended soundsets that use custom samples (like MEL-LABS) that need larger mass storage.

You can send SOME data via MIDI, but data items like Waves, Samples, Arpeggios, Patterns, Songs are not support via MIDI, therefore you will always need a disk based interface to load those.

Also VERY IMPORTANT note that Yamaha never fixed serious bugs in the EX5 MIDI SYSEX implementation that can corrupt your data. My ex.factory librarian is aware of these bugs and works around them. But due to the work around and also the size of EX5 MIDI data it means that trying to transfer 256 voices is no faster than a disk transfer. I only tend to use MIDI SYSEX to send voices to edit buffer when I need them in my EX5R.

That works for me.

Despite all of that, the EX5 is still one of Yamaha’s finest in terms of sound. I hope you enjoy your acquisitions.

Finally, if you have not noticed, there is EX5Tech.co.uk as a repository of all of the free sounds available and it also points to the last wayback machine archive of EX5Tech.com taken before that sites sad demise. There is plenty on there to keep you busy once you get your floppy drive.

On the key and switch stuff, I can’t really comment as I have not had problems Like these. On my X.factory Guides page you will find a guide on how to strip down an SY99 keybed which is the same one as the EX5 if you wish to have a go at replacing the keys in question (do they feel loose as well). You can get spare keys from the Spares dept of your local Yamaha centre.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
rocknpop
Member
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 11:36 pm
Location.: United States

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by rocknpop »

Derek wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:16 pm Hi,

To make full use of the EX5 you will need a floppy drive or some other form of media compatible with the SCSI interface. I used to use an IO Mega Zip drive, but many others had success with different PC Card interfaces.

95% of EX5 downloads will fit on a 1.44MB floppy, it is only the extended soundsets that use custom samples (like MEL-LABS) that need larger mass storage.

You can send SOME data via MIDI, but data items like Waves, Samples, Arpeggios, Patterns, Songs are not support via MIDI, therefore you will always need a disk based interface to load those.

Also VERY IMPORTANT note that Yamaha never fixed serious bugs in the EX5 MIDI SYSEX implementation that can corrupt your data. My ex.factory librarian is aware of these bugs and works around them. But due to the work around and also the size of EX5 MIDI data it means that trying to transfer 256 voices is no faster than a disk transfer. I only tend to use MIDI SYSEX to send voices to edit buffer when I need them in my EX5R.

That works for me.

Despite all of that, the EX5 is still one of Yamaha’s finest in terms of sound. I hope you enjoy your acquisitions.

Finally, if you have not noticed, there is EX5Tech.co.uk as a repository of all of the free sounds available and it also points to the last wayback machine archive of EX5Tech.com taken before that sites sad demise. There is plenty on there to keep you busy once you get your floppy drive.

On the key and switch stuff, I can’t really comment as I have not had problems Like these. On my X.factory Guides page you will find a guide on how to strip down an SY99 keybed which is the same one as the EX5 if you wish to have a go at replacing the keys in question (do they feel loose as well). You can get spare keys from the Spares dept of your local Yamaha centre.
Hi Derek! I was thinking of you last night when I downloaded your editor, I have questions regarding that in a bit...

1) the floppy: I think I will go ahead and replace it with a floppy drive emulator (Gotek). Seems like the best option.
2) after getting the editor to work last night, I did realize that you can't pass on sample data via MIDI. Also something corrupted my Performances last night, I'll have to figure out how to reset all that.
3) I spent time last night on our old beloved site EX5Tech.co.uk and downloaded a few of the patches and lodaed them with the MIDI cables, I loved being able to play Ski's pianos again. And Floyd/Alex's creations are nice too
4) I may have the keybed stuff done professionally to not mess it up... I think it may be worth it.

Question on the editor - what does the paid version provide that the free version does not provide (in layman terms as I'm re-familiarizing myself with the EX World)?


User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
12
Location.: Germany

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by Miks »

rocknpop wrote: Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:05 amQuestion on the editor - what does the paid version provide that the free version does not provide (in layman terms as I'm re-familiarizing myself with the EX World)?
See here:

http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk/registration.html

HTH


My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar
waystein
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:35 am
Location.: Norway

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by waystein »

Very nice to see you sharing interest and support for my all-time favorite synth, EX5, rocknpop!
I am curious to see what you end up doing for SCSI/disk solution, and may have to do the same.
I have used a SCSI card reader in the Floppy slot, an SCD47B, but have ran into trouble with it since changing battery in the EX5.
(see separate post) https://yamahamusicians.com/forum/viewt ... 29&t=16186
So I need probably to upgrade to something newer.
I have all kinds of files for the EX5, but it seems most of them are available for you on ex5tech.co.uk site.
Wishing you the best of luck!
Stein


Stein
Yamaha EX5, DX21, 01v96 dig mixer, PA speakers.
Nord Stage2, Novation Mininova, Alesis QS8, Rhodes stage mkII.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5359
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
12
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Pulled the trigger on an EX5 (AND an EX7)! Now I need help

Unread post by Derek »

rocknpop wrote: Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:05 am 2) after getting the editor to work last night, I did realize that you can't pass on sample data via MIDI. Also something corrupted my Performances last night, I'll have to figure out how to reset all that.

Question on the editor - what does the paid version provide that the free version does not provide (in layman terms as I'm re-familiarizing myself with the EX World)?
Hi, what “editor” you referring to here? My ex.factory is a librarian, not an editor (I have always been happy with the EX5 onboard editing) that allows you to organise your patches. If you have not registered ex.factory then data is not sent to the synth, so should not be complicit in mangling your performances! If it was a different editor, then I am not aware of any other software that works around the EX5 MIDI bugs (I could be wrong though) which means your data can be corrupted (Ski found out the hard way when working on a sound set and used one of the commercial editors, which was not aware of the bugs). As always, do ensure you have a backup of critical data before playing with software.

Ex.factory does support SMDI sample transfer if you can connect your computer and EX5 via SCSI, mind you I have not done that for years and not sure if modern computers will still like the ASPI based interface. But having said it is hardly worth the effort as you still need to build and save the Waves.

What does ex.factory do? it allows you to drag and drop/copy/paste data within EX5 files and between files. If you drag voices within a file to rearrange them, then performances are updated to keep the references preserved (why I wrote it in the first place as nothing else did that!). If you copy a performance to a new file, then referenced voices are also copied. The same is true for other references in a file (e.g. Voices/Waves, Voices/ARPS, etc.). It remaps voices to point to FLASH or RAM waves (another reason why I wrote it), as to try and do that manually on the EX5 for 256, 4 element voices is very tedious.....). You can build a library of all of your data for simpler data management and so on. Ski found he could build large S1M files in ex.factory that he couldn’t do on the EX5. So it does lots! Just keep in mind that my librarians are not full blown editors as with my limited time, I have only ever focused on features that are laborious to do on my keyboards. If a keyboard does it well in terms of management/editing, then I have not tried to replicate that! :)


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
Post Reply