Sample and Waveform Memory

The Yamaha SY99 is a synthesiser combining frequency modulation synthesis (branded as Advanced FM) and sample-based synthesis (branded as Advanced Wave Memory 2) and the direct successor to Yamaha's SY77/TG77

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Fozzer, Saul

User avatar
scottrod
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:00 am

Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by scottrod » Wed Jun 24, 2015 3:39 am

Bought 3 of Brian's memory boards from Sector 101 and just want to be clear on the SY 99's storage capability.

If I understand correctly, regardless of the amount of sample ram installed, the SY99 can only store 99 samples and 64 waveforms. Is this correct?

That is, the samples can be perhaps longer, and the waveforms use more samples for their definitions, but the limitation remains, only 99 sample files and 64 waveform definitions regardless of whether it has five sample ram cards installed, or no sample ram cards installed.

Correct?

User avatar
AJay
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:00 am
Wales

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by AJay » Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:49 am

Yep that's correct.

Bear in mind that the SY85 has a limit of 64/64 so at least it's 50% better for multisampling on the 99. It's a bit of a shame really as they could have done with at least 128 samples on the 99 and the SY85 really needed 256 with it's 8MB SIMM capability, with another 64 for the SYEMB06. Also, IIRC the old Akai S Series could only handle 256 samples with upto 32MB RAM.

The only real benefit though is longer samples, as using higher sample rates than 48KHz isn't of any real use and will limit how much the sample can be pitched up. I recommend using 32KHz unless dealing with sounds containing very high frequencies (over 16KHz). Most of the samples in the Wave ROMs of the entire SY range are 32KHz (some are 48KHz).
Yamaha: SY85, TG500, A3000, PSR48, PSS780
Kawai: K4
Ensoniq: SQ2

Long Gone: Far too much gear from the 80's and 90's that went out the door for £££! Moved to soft synth city instead.

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3485
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Derek » Wed Jun 24, 2015 6:41 pm

Yes, but be aware of bugs in early OS which can cause corruption if you have a lot of samples

The following is an extract from my sy.factory manual
Some versions of the SY99 operating system (1.24 and previous I think) can corrupt Samples in TNN files for samples 54 and above. The effect is that you cannot send these samples via MIDI Sample Dump Standard, and if you try and receive the Sample from the SY99, the receiving program (e.g sy.factory) will think it is receiving a very, very large sample, and the transfer never completes
Even if you have the most recent OS and are not using MIDI SDS yourself, you may see this problem with public TNN files created with earlier OS versions. I can't remember the precise detail (I could dig and see if I recorded it somewhere).

Here's another sample bug
If the Sample has a playback rate lower than 21KHz then the pitch code calculations will be significantly wrong.
And another if you are trying to transfer samples via SDS
The SY99 does not allow you to overwrite an existing Sample when sending a Sample via MIDI Sample Dump Standard; it will put the sample in the next free sample slot. If you want to send a Sample to a location that already has a Sample in it, you will need to delete it first.
And finally a restriction if you are trying to edit samples via a computer program using MIDI SDS
Sadly the SY99 does not seem to support the transmission or reception of these MIDI SDS messages. So whilst sy.factory can edit loop points, you cannot synchronise them to the SY99, unless you delete the sample on the SY99 and resend the sample
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6073
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Clyde » Thu Jun 25, 2015 1:21 am

If you are serious about loading samples to the SY99, the you absolutely should have version 1.57 OS in your SY99.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3485
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Derek » Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:05 pm

Clyde wrote:If you are serious about loading samples to the SY99, the you absolutely should have version 1.57 OS in your SY99.
Clyde
Indeed. :) For clarification, though, those issue identified above will still be seen on that version as well.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
jhulk
Member
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by jhulk » Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:47 pm

i never had any problems with loop point with sy faxctory the transmitted properly

as did all 99 samples

what did seem to be a problem apart from editing on the sy99 itself was wavesample allocations for waveform as all the wavesamples were allocated from 1 to 8

this is were the error is as each new waveforms samples use the first set as set from the allocation table

i will check my os version to see what it is

but i have now dumped several banks of 100 samples as wavetables from sy and each time its done the same so if the os has a bug with allocating the correct slots to the correct waveform

User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6073
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Clyde » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:21 pm

Derek wrote:
Clyde wrote:If you are serious about loading samples to the SY99, the you absolutely should have version 1.57 OS in your SY99.
Clyde
Indeed. :) For clarification, though, those issue identified above will still be seen on that version as well.
Correct, but 1.57 OS does perform better.
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3485
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Derek » Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:26 pm

jhulk wrote:i never had any problems with loop point with sy faxctory the transmitted properly

as did all 99 samples

what did seem to be a problem apart from editing on the sy99 itself was wavesample allocations for waveform as all the wavesamples were allocated from 1 to 8

this is were the error is as each new waveforms samples use the first set as set from the allocation table

i will check my os version to see what it is

but i have now dumped several banks of 100 samples as wavetables from sy and each time its done the same so if the os has a bug with allocating the correct slots to the correct waveform
I still need to look into that to see if it is an sy.factory problem. When I get five minutes.... :roll:
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3485
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Sample and Waveform Memory

Unread post by Derek » Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:27 pm

Clyde wrote:
Derek wrote:
Clyde wrote:If you are serious about loading samples to the SY99, the you absolutely should have version 1.57 OS in your SY99.
Clyde
Indeed. :) For clarification, though, those issue identified above will still be seen on that version as well.
Correct, but 1.57 OS does perform better.
Agreed! :)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha SY99 Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest