Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

The Yamaha SY99 is a synthesiser combining frequency modulation synthesis (branded as Advanced FM) and sample-based synthesis (branded as Advanced Wave Memory 2) and the direct successor to Yamaha's SY77/TG77

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul, Fozzer

User avatar
kalpki
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:20 pm

Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

Unread post by kalpki » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:57 pm

Hi folk,

I'm totally new on this forum but I think will be the best place where to ask this: I've just bought a beautifull Sy99 for a cheap price. The reason is the display, it blink for a second a long orizontal straight line then nothing else so I ve decided to walk the Led display upgrade road too. In doing this I ve bought a cheap display on ebay (ebay item
302160952014) that seems promising. I got it.
Now the question is, which cable? which plug?
:roll:
The seller gave me te link to possible items, these: 262476223511 and 252147177192 letting me the impossible task (to me) to choice which one is the right for Sy99.
:(
Consider I don't want to dismantle the toy anyway, I ll let a technician do it for me but I would like to give him the Synth, the display and the cable/plugs I need...

Could You kindly point me to the right one? Could it help posting pictures of the item?
Thank You in advance to You all
Attachments
FullSizeRender.jpg
my display

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:
Germany

Re: Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

Unread post by Miks » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:31 am

Hi kalpki,

welcome to the Yamaha forums (Y)

Well - I recommend to use the 'old' cable from the (old/genuine) display. That means you (or a tech-savvy person/technician you know) has to desolder the connector from the 'original) display's pcb and solder it to the new display's pcb (taking care for the correct orientation!) Maybe you want an experienced technician to do this job for you?

Regards,
Miks

P.S. let us know how you go on or if you have further questions... 8)
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade


http://rescuer-uslar.de/
https://www.facebook.com/Rescuer.Uslar/

User avatar
kalpki
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:20 pm

Re: Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

Unread post by kalpki » Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:43 am

HI Miks,

You r right, I just was so anxious about this synth that I forgot at least there must be a cable anway on it...! :) and yes, a professional technician will take care of the babyboy - that's for sure, I don't want to spoil everything: I waited something like 15 years to lay my hand on it! then my dreams has come true.

So first of all, I ll just use the old stuff - then if something ll goes wrong I ll mind of replacement...
Thank You so much!

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:
Germany

Re: Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

Unread post by Miks » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:16 pm

If you already haven't - here's a thread about replacing the Optrex display with a 'Cool Blue'... 8)

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=5973#p29412
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade


http://rescuer-uslar.de/
https://www.facebook.com/Rescuer.Uslar/

User avatar
kalpki
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:20 pm

Re: Cable and Plugs for this LED display?

Unread post by kalpki » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:17 pm

Many tanks Miks, I 've just given a look rigt now: as a profane it seems to me a lot of work for my tech...I hope he won't charge too much at least. Ciao!

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha SY99 Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests