Bought A Fantom G6!

The Fantom-G is a dream instrument that redefines the boundaries of playability and creativity

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

sonicNRG
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by sonicNRG » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:42 pm

the Sonic Energy Authority - a sound investment

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:51 pm

Just received it today, and made a song already, and read through many of the papers for ages. But willing to learn stuff always :D I got it working as a MIDI Controller too and many cool things.
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7615
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Saul » Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:38 pm

That's fantastic news! It's a fairly intuitive keyboard to use so I have not often needed to look at the manual but of course that's often the best thing to do when you get a new keyboard.

Keep us posted on how your getting on with it.
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/KORG Triton Studio 61/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Akai Advance 49
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:18 pm

Saul wrote:That's fantastic news! It's a fairly intuitive keyboard to use so I have not often needed to look at the manual but of course that's often the best thing to do when you get a new keyboard.

Keep us posted on how your getting on with it.
I'm very happy with it so far :D The functionality is limitless to me, for now! ;) Very professional usage and difficult to use, so I gotta get the hang of it! :D

Only a little problem I have is the latency through USB, for example, When I use it as a MIDI controller there's somewhat a noticeable delay (before I bought this, I sold an M-Audio Keystation 49e, which had no latency issues in FL Studio). Any idea how I can fix it? Even with ASIO4ALL the USB has some delay. Is there any setting on the keyboard I have to set to change the latency?
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7615
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Saul » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:39 pm

I have only used it with a MAC and there is no latency there. In any case it will be down to drivers rather than the keyboard. There isn't any setting on the keyboard that I know of that will have any effect on the latency. If I can I'll hook it up to the pc and see how it is there and let you know.
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/KORG Triton Studio 61/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Akai Advance 49
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:47 pm

Saul wrote:I have only used it with a MAC and there is no latency there. In any case it will be down to drivers rather than the keyboard. There isn't any setting on the keyboard that I know of that will have any effect on the latency. If I can I'll hook it up to the pc and see how it is there and let you know.
Cool thanks ;)

And those open-sources patches...how do I install them? :D I got a spare memory stick if that helps.

EDIT: Never mind I found out I had to use Fantom-G Editor :D
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7615
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Saul » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:54 pm

Ok tried it on the pc using asio4all and there was no latency at all. I'm using Win7 Ultimate x64 edition, 4gb ram, ATI 4850 graphics, pretty much the same as your setup apart from the cpu which is an intel E2180 dual core so not as fast as your i5 by quite some margin. So there must be something holding it up. I assume you have checked all the usual stuff like what's loaded at startup, running in the background etc.?
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/KORG Triton Studio 61/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Akai Advance 49
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:33 pm

Saul wrote:Ok tried it on the pc using asio4all and there was no latency at all. I'm using Win7 Ultimate x64 edition, 4gb ram, ATI 4850 graphics, pretty much the same as your setup apart from the cpu which is an intel E2180 dual core so not as fast as your i5 by quite some margin. So there must be something holding it up. I assume you have checked all the usual stuff like what's loaded at startup, running in the background etc.?
My computer is pretty much built for multimedia :P It's definitely not clunked up for sure. It never lagged/latency'd with my old MIDI controller as I said, even without ASIO4ALL. But I'll see if I can tweak a few things really to try get it to transfer via USB faster.

Ironically, You have pretty much the exact same specs as me :P
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7615
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Saul » Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:47 pm

Was it worse or better with the Roland drivers?
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/KORG Triton Studio 61/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Akai Advance 49
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:07 pm

Saul wrote:Was it worse or better with the Roland drivers?
I've always had the Roland drivers installed. It wouldn't work as a MIDI Controller without the Roland drivers. Could it be because you got more RAM in your keyboard though?
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:52 pm

It's fine now, no idea what I did, but it's fine :P

But I got one more question, any idea where the best place is to ask my questions or to get tutorials of how to do things on the Fantom G? Like assigning samples to pads, and pretty much just any tutorials?
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7615
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Saul » Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:43 pm

Without a doubt the best place is the Roland Clan forums at http://www.rolandclan.com/
Saul
Site Admin
Sign up to the Newsletter
FREE Home Recording Training Video Course
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/KORG Triton Studio 61/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors/Akai Advance 49
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

Terrum
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bought A Fantom G6!

Unread post by Terrum » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:02 pm

Cheers :D
Thanks,
Terrum.
Image
Image
Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, 3.29GHz. 4GB RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate x64. 3x hard-drives = 3TB ATI Radeon HD4850 1024MB Microsoft Habu Mouse Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard HannsG HG281D 28" Primary Monitor Acer AL1916W 19" Secondary Monitor

Post Reply

Return to “Roland Fantom G”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest